ITYT Travel Forums  

Go Back   ITYT Travel Forums > General Travel Topics > General Travel > Adventure Travel Forums
Click Here to Login

Old 04-07-2008, 08:43 PM   #1

Talking Shark Diving in California

Hi all!I recently returned home from the most amazing trip of my life, and I wanted to share it with my fellow travelers. I am an accountant for a large corporation in Petersburg, North Carolina and I just received my open water certification in SCUBA diving. Naturally, I wanted to try out my newfound passion so I embarked on an arduous task to find the perfect vacationing spot. My husband is not into the whole underwater deal, so he prefers to snorkel. The difficult part was finding something in my budget that we could both enjoy. I thought of Hawaii, but decided against it since EVERYONE wants to go there. I wanted something a bit less crowded. After much researching and quarrelling with my husband we came across a company based out of California called Great White Adventures. Now, this obviously caught our immediate attention for it was a dive boat operation run by a company with a name that entailed Great Whites! We visited there website and found that it was a shark diving company that operated out of both California and Mexico. GWA (Great White Adventures) had this to offer: A one day trip out of the San Francisco bay to a group of islands just off the California coast called the Farralones. Once at the islands we would attempt to attract the ferocious animal known as the Great White shark! We would have the chance to dive in a cage that floated on the surface of the water and attached to the back of the boat. The cage fit four people comfortably, and was designed with our safety in mind. The greatest part of all this was that you did NOT have to be SCUBA certified! So my husband would be able to join. He however decided to opt out because he has a tremendous fear of our shark friends. GWA was still able to accommodate us by offering a topside observer spot