ITYT Travel Forums  

Go Back   ITYT Travel Forums > Travel Companies & Programs > Airlines & Frequent Flier Programs > Continental Airlines (CO)
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2001, 01:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Moo.

Each elite level has a different priority phone number for Continental.

For anyone that's upgraded their elite level within a year, you can pretty quickly figure out the pattern and have all three elite numbers.

That said, is there really any benefit to each different number? I've called the Silver, Gold, and Platinum one and the message is all identical.

I'm not sure if there are actually four different priority levels for calls routed to a rep (ie. platinum, gold, silver, and regular) or if just Continental has long-term plans and this is the first logistical hurtle.

Either way, if anyone knows this answer to this, I'd like to hear it. The Silver Elite line is really easy to remember, so I'd prefer to use that one if it didn't matter. [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Cheers.

Daniel

__________________

dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 01:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Moo.

Each elite level has a different priority phone number for Continental.

For anyone that's upgraded their elite level within a year, you can pretty quickly figure out the pattern and have all three elite numbers.

That said, is there really any benefit to each different number? I've called the Silver, Gold, and Platinum one and the message is all identical.

I'm not sure if there are actually four different priority levels for calls routed to a rep (ie. platinum, gold, silver, and regular) or if just Continental has long-term plans and this is the first logistical hurtle.

Either way, if anyone knows this answer to this, I'd like to hear it. The Silver Elite line is really easy to remember, so I'd prefer to use that one if it didn't matter. [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Cheers.

Daniel

__________________

dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 11:02 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: HNL
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to anthonyanthony Send a message via AIM to anthonyanthony
I'd like to be able to simply attempt to find out if the waits are different with the elite lines.

I recently qualified for Platinum, but am still using the Silver elite number. I have yet to even receive my Gold elite kit, much less my Plat kit.

I suppose I could call the Silver number and ask for the Gold and Platinum numbers, but it wasn't until I read your message that I was even sure there were different numbers...

So is the pattern of numbers for gold and platinum easy to figure out if one only knows the silver number?
anthonyanthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 11:02 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: HNL
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to anthonyanthony Send a message via AIM to anthonyanthony
I'd like to be able to simply attempt to find out if the waits are different with the elite lines.

I recently qualified for Platinum, but am still using the Silver elite number. I have yet to even receive my Gold elite kit, much less my Plat kit.

I suppose I could call the Silver number and ask for the Gold and Platinum numbers, but it wasn't until I read your message that I was even sure there were different numbers...

So is the pattern of numbers for gold and platinum easy to figure out if one only knows the silver number?
anthonyanthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 11:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Quote:
I recently qualified for Platinum, but am still using the Silver elite number. I have yet to even receive my Gold elite kit, much less my Plat kit.
Yeah, Onepass seems really hit-and-miss. It took me a month or two to get my silver kit, but I received my gold kit in less than a week.

Quote:
So is the pattern of numbers for gold and platinum easy to figure out if one only knows the silver number?
Nope. I wouldn't have posted if I thought it'd give away the "secret" numbers. Once you're gold, though, I figure the platinum number can't be that big of a deal and I'm sure that countless other people have noticed the pattern, too.

I'm not even sure that the Elite lines have shorter hold times, frankly. There's nothing more Elite than pressing [1] for domestic reservations/upgrades and getting a busy signal. [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

Either way, it's neat when they answer the phone, "Continental Elite Line, how can I help you, Mr. Baker?"

Daniel


_________________
Daniel A. Baker -- dbaker@ityt.com -- web page
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 11:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Quote:
I recently qualified for Platinum, but am still using the Silver elite number. I have yet to even receive my Gold elite kit, much less my Plat kit.
Yeah, Onepass seems really hit-and-miss. It took me a month or two to get my silver kit, but I received my gold kit in less than a week.

Quote:
So is the pattern of numbers for gold and platinum easy to figure out if one only knows the silver number?
Nope. I wouldn't have posted if I thought it'd give away the "secret" numbers. Once you're gold, though, I figure the platinum number can't be that big of a deal and I'm sure that countless other people have noticed the pattern, too.

I'm not even sure that the Elite lines have shorter hold times, frankly. There's nothing more Elite than pressing [1] for domestic reservations/upgrades and getting a busy signal. [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

Either way, it's neat when they answer the phone, "Continental Elite Line, how can I help you, Mr. Baker?"

Daniel


_________________
Daniel A. Baker -- dbaker@ityt.com -- web page
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2001, 03:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Are you entering the zip code that your Onepass statements come to?
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2001, 03:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Are you entering the zip code that your Onepass statements come to?
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 11:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
When it asks you to enter onepass and your zipcode it is just a thing they do when there is a long wait. You can press all ones and it will still let you through.
nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 11:37 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
When it asks you to enter onepass and your zipcode it is just a thing they do when there is a long wait. You can press all ones and it will still let you through.
nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 12:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwelite
When it asks you to enter onepass and your zipcode it is just a thing they do when there is a long wait. You can press all ones and it will still let you through.
Where did you hear this? This is not true at all.

You should always be prompted for this information, regardless of projected wait time. Whenever I enter it, I am immediately greeted by a Onepass Elite agent that often greets me by name.

The reason it asks for the number is to give it to the agent's computer when they answer, not to verify that you're an elite member.

Daniel
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 12:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwelite
When it asks you to enter onepass and your zipcode it is just a thing they do when there is a long wait. You can press all ones and it will still let you through.
Where did you hear this? This is not true at all.

You should always be prompted for this information, regardless of projected wait time. Whenever I enter it, I am immediately greeted by a Onepass Elite agent that often greets me by name.

The reason it asks for the number is to give it to the agent's computer when they answer, not to verify that you're an elite member.

Daniel
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 10:27 AM   #13
Senior Member
ITYT Navigator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: AUS [Austin, TX, USA]
Posts: 610
Send a message via AIM to Nugget
My experience matches Lou's. I'm always asked to enter my OP number via touch-tone (even when calling in the middle of the night when call volume is low) and I'm always asked again for my information from the OP rep who eventually answers the phone.
Nugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 10:27 AM   #14
Senior Member
ITYT Navigator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: AUS [Austin, TX, USA]
Posts: 610
Send a message via AIM to Nugget
My experience matches Lou's. I'm always asked to enter my OP number via touch-tone (even when calling in the middle of the night when call volume is low) and I'm always asked again for my information from the OP rep who eventually answers the phone.
Nugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 01:41 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugget
My experience matches Lou's. I'm always asked to enter my OP number via touch-tone (even when calling in the middle of the night when call volume is low) and I'm always asked again for my information from the OP rep who eventually answers the phone.

Then that is puzzling. If they ask you to enter it, and then the agent asks you to give it to them again. That doesn't make sense.
nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 01:41 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugget
My experience matches Lou's. I'm always asked to enter my OP number via touch-tone (even when calling in the middle of the night when call volume is low) and I'm always asked again for my information from the OP rep who eventually answers the phone.

Then that is puzzling. If they ask you to enter it, and then the agent asks you to give it to them again. That doesn't make sense.
nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 04:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
You guys never have the system work as it should?

There have been a few times that it hasn't worked (and I've been asked again), but the vast majority of times, I am instantly connected after entering my Onepass number and the agent knows who I am.
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 04:57 PM   #18
Senior Member
ITYT Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: IAH/HOU
Posts: 2,354
You guys never have the system work as it should?

There have been a few times that it hasn't worked (and I've been asked again), but the vast majority of times, I am instantly connected after entering my Onepass number and the agent knows who I am.
dbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 06:03 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
I guess then it must be my phone.
nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 06:03 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston - IAH Gate: B87
Posts: 54
I guess then it must be my phone.
__________________

nwelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.



Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0